The paper "Untangling Header Bidding Lore" co-authored by Debopam Bhattacherjee and Ankit Singla received the PAM 2020 Best Dataset Award



  • Dr. David Cock wins ACM SIGOPS 2019 Hall of Fame award for a paper titled "seL4: formal verification of an OS kernel". The paper was published ten years ago at SOSP 2009.

  • Ioana Giurgiu, Oriana Riva, Dejan Juric, Ivan Krivulev, and Gustavo Alonso receive the ACM/IFIP/Usenix International Middleware Conference 2019 Test-of-Time Award for their paper on mobile phones and cloud computing published in Middleware 2009

  • Debopam Bhattacherjee's paper "Network Topology Design at 27,000 Km/hour" awarded the Applied Networking Research Prize

  • Frank McSherry has been awarded the Test-Of-Time Award at SIGMOD 2019 for his paper "Privacy integrated queries: an extensible platform for privacy-preserving data analysis"




  • Nora Hollenstein, our PhD student, and Jonathan Rotsztejn, our Master Thesis student,  won the 2017 International Workshop on Semantic Evaluation (SemEval-2017) "relation classification" competition, placing first out of 28 teams from all over the world. 

  • Jan Rellermeyer, Gustavo Alonso, and Timothy Roscoe receive the ACM/IFIP/Usenix International Middleware Conference 2017 Test-of-Time Award for their paper "R-OSGi: Distributed Applications through Software Modularization", published in Middleware 2007
  • Onur Mutlu elected ACM Fellow

  • Vasiliki Kalavri's PhD Thesis "Performance Optimization Techniques and Tools for Distributed Graph Processing" awarded the IBM Innovation Award 2017 by FNRS, the Belgian Fund for Scientific research.

  • Jana Giceva awarded the ETH Medal for her dissertation: Database/Operating system co-design

  • DoppioDB demo at SIGMOD 2017 selected as one of the best demos in the program ("doppioDB: A Hardware Accelerated Database" by David Sidler, Zsolt Istvan, Muhsen Owaida, Kaan Kara, and Gustavo Alonso) and won an honorable mention

  • Onur Mutlu received the DFRWS 2017 Best Paper Award as co-author of the paper "Improving the Reliabililty of Chip-off Forensic Analysis of NAND Flash Memory Devices"



  • Torsten Hoefler won the 2015 Latsis Prize

  • Pravin Shinde, Kornilios Kourtis, Antoine Kaufmann and Timothy Roscoe received the Best Poster award at EuroSys 2015 for "Dragonet: a Host Network Stack for Harnessing NIC Hardware".

  • Timothy Roscoe and Robert Soulé (USI) received the Google Research Award for the "Online Data Center Modeling" project

  • Torsten Hoefler received the ERC Starting Grant




  • Philipp Unterbrunner awarded the 2012 Chorafas Prize for outstanding contributions and excellent scientific achievement in his doctoral dissertation

  • Gustavo Alonso elected ACM Fellow

  • Philipp Unterbrunner received the ETH Medal Award for his outstanding Doctoral Thesis entitled: Elastic, Reliable, and Robust Storage and Query Processing with Crescando/RB

  • Campus Challenge course team under the supervision of Prof. Donald Kossmann won the European Accenture Campus Challenge Competition

  • Nihal Dindar is one of the Google Anita Borg Scholarship 2012 recipients
  • Jana Giceva received the Best Poster Award at the ACM EuroSys Conference 2012
  • Andrei Popovici, Thomas Gross, and Gustavo Alonso received the ACM AOSD 2012 Most Influential Paper Award for their 2002 Paper: Dynamic weaving for aspect-oriented programming. International Conference on Aspect-Oriented Software Development, AOSD April, 2002, University of Twente, Enschede, The Netherlands.


  • Pratanu Roy received the Best Master Thesis Industry Award for his MT: "Using Background Knowledge in Schema Matching and Ontology Alignment" completed at RWTH Aachen, Germany.
  • Sukriti Ramesh received the Fritz-Kutter Award 2011 for her Master Thesis: "CrowdDB – Answering Queries with Crowdsourcing
  • Timothy Roscoe received the D-INFK Golden Owl 2011 awarded by VSETH 
  • Donald Kossmann and Sukriti Ramesh (Systems Group, ETH); Amber Feng, Micheal Franklin, Tim Kraska, Andrew Wang, Reynold Xin (UC Berkeley); Samuel Madden (MIT) received the VLDB 2011 Best Demo Award 
  • IS Lab Project student team: Lynn Aders, René Buffat, Zaheer Chothia, and Matthias Wetter supervised by Cagri Balkesen, Peter Fischer, and Nesime Tatbul received the DEBS 2011 Grand Challenge Award.
  • Nihal Dindar, Peter Fischer, and Nesime Tatbul  DEBS 2011 Best Poster Award for
  • Donald Kossmann received the ICDE 2011 Most Influential Paper Award for for the 2001 Paper on skyline queries
  • Jens Teubner and Louis Woods received the BTW 2011 Best Demo Award 


  • Donald Kossmann honored as ACM Fellow, 2010
  • René Müller received the Fritz-Kutter Award 2010 for his PhD Dissertation: Data Stream Processing on Embedded Devices
  • Oriana Riva received the Ambizione Grant 2010
  • Gustavo Alonso and Bettina Kemme received the VLDB 10 Year Best Paper Award 2010
  • Timothy Roscoe received the Microsoft Research PhD Scholarship Award 2010
  • Tim Kraska received the SNSF Fellowship for Prospective Researchers, 2010



  • Donald Kossmann received the Google Research Award 2008
  • The Systems Group awarded grant from Microsoft as part of the Microsoft Innovation Cluster for Embedded Software (ICES)
  • Nesime Tatbul received the IBM Faculty Award 2008
  • Oriana Riva received the  ETH Fellowship 2008